The European Academy of Chamber Music (European Chamber Music Academy – ECMA) is a European foundation that encourages the development of great quartets and trios of tomorrow. It aims to promote European chamber music by inviting young classical musicians to develop their talent as soloists. Learn more about the ECMA.

The ECMA is considered a “must-go” for young soloists around Europe, particularly for those in string quartets. It is recognised as one of the top institutions by all chamber music institutions in Europe, including:

  • Universität für Musik und darstellende Künste, Vienna
  • Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique, Paris
  • Kalkalpel Festival, Großraming
  • Scuola de Musica di Fiesole, Italy
  • Northern Royal College of Music, Manchester
  • Norges Musikkhogskole Oslo
  • Lithuanian Academy of Music and Theatre Vilnius

Each year since 2005, the ECMA has organised master classes that last around 3 to 7 days in the most prestigious venues for chamber music in Europe.

The Pablo Casals Festival of Prades has been chosen to host one of the seven European sessions each November. Quartets and trios players, selected by audition, are among the future generation of soloists. For two years, the musicians benefit from high quality teaching by great classical musicians. The training is intense: history of music and composers, art of interpretation, study of music works… This comprehensive training enables the musicians to acquire a solid experience in privileged conditions, helping them to enter the closed circle of the great classic ensembles around the world.