kobayachi

BIOGRAPHY :

The Japanese composer Sumio Kobayashi is born in 1982 in Mie. After a master’s degree in linguistics from the Hitotsubsashi University, he was awarded national and international competition prizes. He is studying composition with Hiroyuki Itoh and Joji Yuasa.

Sumio Kobayashi takes part in international festivals as composer in residence and as guest composer.

PRESENTATION OF THE WORK : “Floraison d’eau”

In this work, it is intended to express water, including its elusiveness. Although the water does not have specific shape, snow, rain ice can have a measure of form. Also, we will see the shape of water through river. In any cases, their shapes are different from geometry, and it is difficult to grasp the exact form. For the purpose of depicting non-geometric water shapes, ambiguous rhythm and ethereal sonority are used.

In this work, many types of harmonics are used to express transparency of water. Due to the reason that the harmonics do not contain many overtones, the harmonic sounds are similar to pure sound. In other words, harmonic sounds do not have deep color of sonority.

Poetry is, at the same time, regarded as an important factor in this music. Water will be poetically embodied by expressing it as it is. The title “Floraison d’Eau” came from this poetic embodiment of the water.

kobayachi

BIOGRAPHIE

Né à Mie en 1982, Sumio Kobayashi est un compositeur japonais. Après une Maîtrise de linguistique à l’Université Hitotsubashi, il obtient des prix aux concours nationaux et internationaux. Il étudie la composition avec Hiroyuki Itoh et Joji Yuasa.
Sumio Kobayashi est invité dans des festivals internationaux comme compositeur en résidence et compositeur invité.

OEUVRE EN COMPETITION : « Floraison d’eau »

En créant cette œuvre, l’intention du compositeur était d’exprimer l’eau malgré sa nature insaisissable. Bien que l’eau n’ait pas de forme spécifique, la neige, la pluie, la glace peuvent, dans une certaine mesure, en avoir une, tout comme également un fleuve. Dans tous les cas, leurs formes ne sont pas géométriques et il est difficile d’en donner une silhouette précise. Des rythmes ambigus et des sonorités éthérées sont utilisés dans le but de dépeindre des formes d’eau non géométriques.
Dans cette œuvre de nombreux types de sons « flûtés » (flageolets) sont censés exprimer la transparence de l’eau. Les flageolets n’ayant pas beaucoup d’harmoniques, cela donne un son très pur. En d’autres termes, ces sons n’ont pas une grande profondeur de timbre.
La poésie occupe en même temps une place importante dans cette musique. L’eau y est poétiquement incarnée en étant exprimée telle qu’elle est. Le titre « Floraison d’Eau » vient de cette incarnation poétique de l’eau.