maia

BIOGRAPHY :

Igor Maia is a Brazilian composer based in London (UK). Born in Campinas (1988) he began his training in music composition in his native Brazil at the age of 13. In 2006 he moved to The Netherlands to start a Bachelor of Music Composition at the Royal Conservatoire of The Hague, finishing his studies there in 2010. He then moved back to Brazil, where he started a Masters of Music Composition at the State University of Campinas under supervision of Prof. Silvio Ferraz, with a scholarship from the São Paulo Research Foundation (FAPESP).
He has participated since 2004 in many festivals and workshops such as Voix Nouvelles at the Fondation Royaumont, Takefu International Music Festival (Japan) and Summer Sounds (Finland) to cite but a few. He has received since 2010 many awards including the BMI Student Composer Award (USA), National Foundation of the Arts (Funarte) Prize in Composition (Brazil) and 1st Prize of II National Composition Competition Música Hoje (Brazil), among others. Mr. Maia’s music has been performed in Argentina, Brazil, Finland, France, Holland, Japan, Latvia, the USA, and the United Kingdom.
Since 2013, he is a PhD Student at King’s College London under supervision of Profs. Silvina Milstein and George Benjamin. His PhD is kindly funded with a scholarship from the CAPES Foundation of the Brazilian Ministry of Education.

PRESENTATION OF THE WORK : Fluxus

Fluxus (Latin for flow) is divided into three movements, which are all connected, creating a long stretch of music without any break. The movements are divided in a Fast-Slow-Fast structure where the two outer movements have a very flamboyant character, whereas the slow movement is very intimate and provocative.
As a long journey through a river, the listener is invited to flow along the discourse of sound ; sometimes through rough waters, other times passing through the calm and reflexive stillness, appreciating the journey as much as all the moments that have passed. It is a guided journey
following the stream of sound, letting it flood through our perception.
Finally, Fluxus is a piece about contrasts of different types of sonorities attempting to grow and live simultaneously, a flow of different sounds that merge into one another while still keeping their unique characteristics.

maia

BIOGRAPHIE :

Igor Maia est né à Campinas, au Brésil en 1988. En 2006, il s’installe aux Pays-Bas pour commencer une licence en composition musicale au Conservatoire Royal de La Haye, terminant ses études en 2010. Il retourne ensuite au Brésil, où il commence une maîtrise en composition musicale à l’Université d’État de Campinas sous la supervision du professeur Silvio Ferraz, à l’aide d’une bourse de la Fondation de Recherche de São Paulo (FAPESP).
Il a participé depuis 2004 à de nombreux festivals et des ateliers tels que Voix Nouvelles à la Fondation Royaumont, Takefu International Music Festival (Japon) et Summer Sounds (Finlande) pour n’en citer que quelques-uns. Il a reçu de nombreux prix depuis 2010, y compris le compositeur lauréat du BMI Student Composer Award (USA), Fondation nationale des arts (Funarte) prix de composition (Brésil) et le 1er Prix dans la II Compétition de la Composition nationale de Música Hoje (Brésil), entre autres. La musique de M. Maia a été effectuée en Argentine, Brésil, Finlande, France, Hollande, Japon, Lettonie, les Etats-Unis et le Royaume-Uni.

Le brésilien a reçu une bourse de doctorat de la Fondation CAPES du Ministère brésilien de l’Éducation et, depuis2013, il est étudiant en doctorat à King’s College London sous la supervision de prof. Silvina Milstein et George Benjamin.

OEUVRE EN COMPETITION : « Fluxus »

Fluxus (flux en latin) est divisé en trois mouvements, qui sont tous connectés, créant un long courant de musique sans aucune pause. Les mouvements sont divisés en une structure rapide-lente rapide où les deux mouvements extérieurs ont un caractère très flamboyant, alors que le mouvement lent est très intime et provocant.

Comme un long voyage au travers d’une rivière, l’auditeur est invité à se laisser emporter par le long du discours du son ; parfois en eaux turbulentes, d’autres fois en passant par l’immobilité calme et réfléchie, appréciant le voyage aussi bien que tous les moments passés. C’est un voyage guidé suivant le flux du son, le laissant couler à travers notre perception.
Enfin, Fluxus est un morceau sur les contrastes de différents types de sonorités qui tentent de grandir et vivre simultanément, un flux de sons différents qui se fondent l’un dans l’autre tout en gardant leurs uniques caractéristiques.