noras

One of the today’s most outstanding cellists, Arto Noras began his musical apprenticeship at the age of five. By the time he was eight he had become a student of Prof. Yrjö Slin at the Sibelius Academy. From 1962 to 1964 he attended Paul Tortelier’s master class at the Paris Conservatoire, crowning his studies with a First Prize. Two years later, he won international fame by winning the Second Prize at the Tschaikovsky Competition.

Arto Noras plays regularly with the greatest orchestras and conductors of the world. His repertoire includes nearly the whole cello literature. He is also renowned for his chamber music performances. He has played with the most famous musicians of the world.

The long list of his CDs includes also works especially composed for him. Recently he recorded a piece by Krzysztof Penderecki.

His long career as a teacher, his innumerable master classes given all over the world and his activities as a member of international competition juries have widely contributed to the development of music for cello, in
Finland as well as in many other countries.

Arto Noras is the founder and Artistic Director of the Naantali Music Festival. He also founded the International Paulo Cello Competition.

noras

Arto Noras, l’un des plus éminents violoncellistes d’aujourd’hui, commence l’apprentissage de son instrument à l’âge de cinq ans. À huit ans, il est élève du professeur Yrjö Selin à l’Académie Sibelius. De 1962 à 1964, il poursuit ses études dans la classe magistrale de Paul Tortelier au Conservatoire de Paris et les termine par un Premier Prix. Deux ans plus tard, il acquiert une notoriété internationale en remportant le Second Prix au Concours Tchaïkovsky.

Arto Noras se produit régulièrement avec les plus grands orchestres et chefs du monde et son répertoire englobe pratiquement toute la littérature pour violoncelle. Il est également célèbre pour ses prestations de musicien de chambre et joue avec les instrumentistes les plus
renommés du monde.

L’importante liste de ses CD, comprend également des oeuvres écrites tout spécialement pour lui. Récemment, il a enregistré une pièce de Krzysztof Penderecki.

Sa longue carrière de professeur à l’Académie Sibelius, ses nombreuses master-classes dans le monde entier et son rôle de membre du jury de concours internationaux ont largement contribué au développement de la musique pour violoncelle, aussi bien en Finlande qu’aux quatre coins du globe.

Arto Noras est fondateur du Naantali Music Festival, dont il est également Directeur Artistique, et du Concours
International Paulo Cello.